Tag Archives: Benjamin Marra

Free comics: American Barbarian

Our creative teams are working hard and doing their best to deliver you four free comic book stories on the 4th of May. But until then we don’t want you to to suffer from lack of free comics, so this week we want to direct you to Tom Scioli’s excellent American Barbarian.

1cover

A few weeks ago we urged you to check out the adventures Benjamin Marra’s Zorion the Swordlord, a comic that ought to be hit with fans of He-Man, Conan or Mad Max. Scioli’s American Barbarian is arguably cut from the same cloth as Marra’s series, but it’s definitely its own beast.

9

11

Scioli, who’s primarily known for the sci-fi-opera series Gødland with Joe Casey, is channeling sequential art legend Jack Kirby in his work – with great effect:

  724

The story itself is pretty straight-forward:  In a post-apocalyptic world, our hero Meric seeks revenge on the monster Two-Tank Omen, who conquered his city and slaughtered his family. Scioli brings the story to life with amazing some imagery and character designs, making American Barbarian the most epic webcomic out there.

 356

One can loose oneself in these hyper-dynamic images for hours, but experience has shown one Outré editor that listening to a suitable record enhances the reading experience. In this case U.S. metal records from the eighties have proved a perfect match (obviously), and he would recommend something in the vein of  Omen’s Battle Cry or Manilla Road’s Crystal Logic as a musical supplement to American Barbarian.

If you enjoy this series and want to support it financially, then you should know that it’s available as a hardcover from AdHouse Books. And on the American Barbarian page, you can also check out two other of Scioli’s online comics, Final Frontier and Satan’s Soldier.

Before we go we want to remind creators again that we’re still looking for submissions for our third issue. Details here.

Happy reading and stay creative!

Magnus & Glenn
Editors
Outré Press

Advertisements

Free comics! FUBAR!

Howdy,

Another Wednesday is here and we feel it’s time again to plug some free comics. This week we want to direct your attention to indie artist extraordinaire Benjamin Marra and his imprint Traditional Comics.

about_ben

Marra is the man behind titles such as Night Business, Lincoln Washington: Free Man, Gangsta Rap Posse and The Incredibly Fantastic Adventures of Maureen Dowd. Almost all of these comics are notorious and/or outrageous to one degree or another, but you’ll find nothing less than rock-solid storytelling in each and every issue. Marra takes his comics seriously, as should be evident if you’ve read the interviews he did with The Comics Journal and Robot 6.

Today we want to point out to you what is probably Marra’s least known comic book work. And you’ll find it right on his Traditional Comics site, available to read for free. Ladies and gents, check out his Space Barbarians of the Ultimate Future Dimensions: Zorion the Swordlord.

16_zorionpg01

Do you like Conan the Barbarian, He-Man and the Masters of the Universe, Mad Max, Kull the Conqueror or Red Sonja? Then we suggest that you sit down with a beer and enjoy the 39 pages (and one double page spread) that are available of this epic fantasy series. We could go on about how übercool this comic is for another 500 words, but we’d rather let these random panels do the trick:

2 11 33 44

5

We also wanted to be a little bold and  do some self-promotion. If you’re into indie comics, you may have heard of the New York Times best selling anthology series FUBAR, which high concept is “historical zombie stories”. The third volume, titled FUBAR: American History Z, is now available to order in this month’s Previews catalog, and as its name hints at the focus this time around is on American History.

fahz

It just so happens that both Magnus and Glenn have written a story for this volume, and it would please us immensly if you’d consider pre-ordering it. You can do so by telling your local comics retailer that the order code for this book is FEB130673, and you’ll find the actual solicitation on page 232 in Previews (If you don’t have a comic book shop nearby, you can pre-order the book from online retailers like these).

Now, what has this got to do with free comics? We’re glad you asked. Before you put away the Previews catalog, flip it to page 22. In the upper right corner on that page, you’ll see the cover of the FUBAR FCBD 2013 Special, which will be available on Saturday, May 4. This is as you know Free Comic Book Day, and also the official release date for  Outré’s first issue.

FUBAR Free Comic Book Day cover

So if you’re not completely sold on the idea of reading more stories about the walking dead, pick up the Special and see what FUBAR is all about (pulp zombie yarns that are helluva fun!) before you decide on picking up a copy. But whatever you do that day: Don’t forget to download the first issue of our anthology.

That’s it for now. To those of you who want to be a part of our third, xenophobia-themed issue: Don’t forget that there’s still plenty of time to submit scripts and sequential samples. Check out our submission guidelines for more details.

Thanks and stay creative!

Magnus & Glenn
Editors
Outré Press