Artist spotlight: K. Michael Russell

One of the latest additions to the Outré family is K. Michael Russell, who will be lending us his coloring skills to one of the stand alone illustrations in our first issue.

kurtjpeg

Who are you?
My name is Kurt Michael Russell, but I’m usually credited as K. Michael Russell. (Try to find me by Googling my first and last name… go ahead, I’ll wait. Thank my pop-culture oblivious parents for that.) I’m an American freelance comic book colorist and full-time registered nurse. I draw as well, but the majority of my published work has been as a colorist.

Why do you draw/color?
I don’t remember not drawing. My mom told me that I started when I was two years old. I just enjoy doing it–the act of turning a blank canvas into a work of art. One is literally creating. There was nothing there; now there is. There’s something inherently rewarding about that to me.

A good penciller/inker can do much to create the “feel” of a comic book page, but the final word is ultimately with the colorist–to set the mood, to create the atmosphere, to light the scene. I would equate it to the cinematographer or the director of photography on a movie set. I’m a big film buff, and I use movie scenes for reference often. I just really love the whole process.

Where can one find you?
www.michruss.com is a portal to my Facebook, Twitter, DeviantArt, and Tumblr pages. I usually put new art and previews that I can on those pages. Feel free to email me at kmichruss@gmail.com.

Kurt Michael will be working on the pin-up that Brian Gilman did for us, which you could see a little snippet from last week. To see more of what this artist is capable of, head on to his DeviantArt page and check out gorgeous pop culture art like this: tmnt2

carl

One response to “Artist spotlight: K. Michael Russell

  1. Pingback: Reprise – Outré #1 still available! | OUTRÉ

Leave a Reply

